A Crash of the Yum Updater Results in Duplicate Packages

Recently, I was using yum to update a machine on which I was running Fedora Core 4. Unfortunately, my /usr partition filled up and caused yum to crash. A side effect of the crash was that rpm reported that I had several packages installed twice. After fixing the space problem in /usr, I fixed the problem of duplicate packages by forcing rpm to reinstall all the packages that yum was installing during the update. Sample commands for doing this are:

mkdir /scr/rpm-force
cp /var/cache/yum/updates-released/packages/*.rpm /scr/rpm-force
cp /var/cache/yum/extras/packages/*.rpm /scr/rpm-force
cd /scr/rpm-force
rpm -Uvh --force *.rpm

~ by Ryan Lefever on January 21, 2006.

2 Responses to “A Crash of the Yum Updater Results in Duplicate Packages”

  1. Thanks! That helped me.

  2. Oh, I have the same problem updating from FC12 to FC13!
    (on a USB key…)
    I’ll try it, thanks for the trick.

Leave a Reply

 
