Using Flash on 64-bit Linux in a 64-bit Browser

A nagging problem with 64-bit Linux is that Adobe/Macromedia has not created a 64-bit flash plugin. Most work arounds suggest using a 32-bit browser on 64-bit Linux because there is a 32-bit plugin available.  That can be annoying for a number of reasons. For example, for KDE users, the method suggested here to configure your Firefox fonts will not directly work if you switch to 32-bit Firefox.

Fortunately, there is a way to use the 32-bit flash plugin with 64-bit Firefox. It requires use of the nspluginwrapper. I was able to get Flash Player 9 working with 64-bit Firefox 1.0.8 (the 64-bit version of Firefox available from yum on FC4). I only tested that setup on a few websites, but it worked for the sites I cared about. I took the following steps to get things working

  1. I obtained the 32-bit flash player 9 tar file.
  2. As root, I copied the libflashplayer.so and flashplayer.xpt files from the tar file to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins and set the permissions to 755 and 444, respectively.
  3. I obtained the nspluginwrapper plugin and viewer rpms.
  4. As root, I installed the rpms using rpm -Uvh nspluginwrapper-0.9.91.3-1.x86_64.rpm nspluginwrapper-i386-0.9.91.3-1.x86_64.rpm

Note, there are instructions at http://gwenole.beauchesne.info/projects/nspluginwrapper/ describing how to remove, update, or install plugins after nspluginwrapper is already installed.  It is probably more convenient to use the Flash plugin rpm, rather than the Flash Player tar file; however, I had constraints on my system that prevented me from using the rpm.

~ by Ryan Lefever on March 17, 2007.

4 Responses to “Using Flash on 64-bit Linux in a 64-bit Browser”

  1. How to do this on KUbuntu?

  2. […] Note, in lieu of this approach, you can use a 64-bit browser and install nspluginwrapper to support a 32-bit Flash plugin, as I discuss here. […]

  3. Daniel,

    I do not have direct experience with this technique on Ubuntu/Kubuntu; however, the technique should be similar. Unfortunately, I’m not aware of debian packages for nspluginwrapper. You could install nspluginwrapper from source located at http://gwenole.beauchesne.info/en/projects/nspluginwrapper. Everything else that I posted should be ok as far as I know. However, like I said before I don’t have experience with this technique in Ubuntu/Kubuntu.

    If you don’t want to follow this approach, you could try the approach suggested in the post https://arbitraryusefulinfo.wordpress.com/2007/10/10/flash-and-java-browser-plugins-on-amd64-ubuntu/.

  4. I tried compiling nsplugin from source. Did not work. Too bad. :-/

Leave a Reply

 
